Home

Stephan put down his glass of beer and I finished : ” … so from now on, garbage is apparently handled by the astounding alcoholic neighbor.”

-“I don’t think you’re allowed to say things like that anymore.”

-“Things like what?”

-“Calling your neighbor stupefying and drunk.”

-“Astounding! And I certainly did not say drunk. I know the difference, he’s an alcoholic!”

-“Still not acceptable by modern rules.”

Me, with a glowing annoyance in my tone, “Well then the rules be damned. I can’t say my bright neighbor, he’s not; he’s astounding! I can’t say my interesting neighbor, he’s not; he’s astounding!
I can’t say my friendly neighbor, he’s not; he’s flocking astounding. If you want to bicker over terms, I’ll give you that I don’t intend astounding with a positive connotation. Does that help?”

-“Not really but as long as no one else hears you  … Still, don’t call him an alcoholic in public.”

-“Ahhhhhhh, come on! I’m not forming an opinion and preparing an intervention, it’s a simple fact : the guy is a consummate wino.”

-“You don’t know that.”

-“Well, no, not sensu stricto, I don’t carry a breath analyzer with me although I bet if we dropped him in the alley, after ten bites the rats would be dancing and singing Maracena or La Cucaracha.
But again, observation goes a long way. I’ve been here four months, always saw him flustered and wavering. Met him on the street a few days back, alert and walking straight and did not recognize him! Ah! There! See what I mean?”

-“You’re hopeless!”

-Truthful, it used to be called truthful … or blunt, to the most delicate.”

Tay.

Leave a comment