Home
Copyright by Björn Rudberg.

Copyright by Björn Rudberg.

Why, oh, why, have we come here on vacation? I’m bored to tears!

When I asked dad, on the plane on the trip over what the place was famous for, he said sightseeing, strange wine and nothing else!

Wonderful! Now they’re gone : my brother is biking, mom and dad are hiking and my stupid sister is frying on the sand.

Well, now I know why they make wine (to alleviate the boredom) and not renowned for anything else … ( not enough flat land for a football field or a basketball court ).

What a stupid idea, to live on a rocky island!

redsep

( 100 words / 0 numerals ; title not included. )

The above short story is an entry to a weekly challenge on WordPress called : Friday Fictioneers!

The idea is to write a hundred words short fiction ( flash ) story upon the prompt that is provided by Rochelle under the form of the above picture.

Thanks then to Rochelle whose blog is found here :

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/friday-fictioneers-2/

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2014/01/22/24-january-2014/

and I hope my readers will like it.

27 thoughts on “WTF! ( What the Funchal? )

  1. Sounds like someone needs to learn to live outside their comfort zone. Maybe they’d actually enjoy some of the activities the family Is doing if they only gave them a chance.

    • Geez! That’s an unduly harsh critic, Adam. 😀
      Although admittedly unspecified, I am still following the adventures of an 8-yo through the Friday Fictioneers prompts. And as any parent will tell you, that animal species is highly volatile, switching from glumly content to unbearably finicky without warning. Besides, if only for the sake of variety, I have to change the character’s stance towards life from time to time.
      I suddenly wonder if you thus meant that yourself were an ever even tempered and always amenable child growing up? That sounds as boring as unbelievable! 😉
      Just kidding, thanks for the like and I’ll run to read your take and the rest of the gang’s right now, Tay.

      • I was, of course, a perfect child. haha…Couldn’t say that with a straight face. I was always up for adventurous things though. Hiking and biking and climbing on the hillsides would have been my own personal heaven. I have a 3 year old daughter, so I’m well aware of how fast a child’s temperament can and will change. Even faster than the blink of an eye I think. Sometimes I’m left wondering if I dreamed her bad temper when she suddenly switches to being sweet and innocent, also works the other way around though. It’s a vicious game they play.

        • “It’s a vicious game they play.” Yup! Agreed, etc! Little angels my snowy azz? And then they need a hug or kiss or love, comfort and reassurance and climb in your arms and expect to be forgiven! And we do?
          ARGGGGGGGHHH’ sheeeeesh, sighhhhh, ( wink ) Tay.

    • Thanks Elephant and greater thanks for not making me cry this week with your own piece. 😉
      A couple hundred more weeks of Friday Fictioneers and I’ll have myself a book ready.
      If I don’t strangle that whiny character before then, that is?
      Tay.

    • I know, Björg, that’s why I mentioned it! For Ronaldo played in funchal at 8 [ the exact age of my hero / character ] but moved to the Sporting’s junior club in Alcochete by ten? Hence the whole subjacent thread of my story that you alone found.
      Now if only someone had noticed the 5 Ws starting the sentences along with the 5 each Ts and Fs that are in bold to complete a set of 5 W T F, all would be swell! 😎

      Thanks for the Pic BTW, Tay!

    • Well … I was one? And I possibly remember shedding a cocoon way back then? A coming of age that remains as a before and after threshold yet today so that it still lingers on? I also raised one recently enough?
      Thank you in any case, “chief”! That was a major compliment!
      Let me return it by acknowledging how good a mom you are to us all at FF, giving, gentle and encouraging! Those boys are lucky!
      Peace אמא’לה, Tay.

  2. Not everyone loves nature or hiking or the beach;-)Even if they are not 8 year old-so all my sympathy for the lil one:-)Loved the voice in here-so true to character!

  3. Thnx Atreyee! It comes easier with practice and repetition. You just have to consider the character and only the character. Personally, I’d have been biking with the older son! But it’s not my story so …
    Tay.

Leave a comment