Home

 

A friend E-mailed me today about yesterday’s post on the referendum planned in Crimea. He was outraged that the International Criminal Court, as I mentioned, only recognizes the autonomy of states that factually manage to retain it and yet …

-Mom, can I have a cookie please?
-Sure boy, go get one!
-But mom, can’t I have a cookie?
-Yes, go ahead
-But mom, I really want one?
-I said yes, son! There in the pantry.
-But Mom, I have no arms?
-Ah sorry then baby but you know the rule : No arms, no cookies!

That joke, as mean as it may seem explains a basic tenant of philosophy : No will, no liberty!
Liberty is the state of that which can act without constraint. But for this to constitute true freedom, the individual has to be able to exert it. Animals for instance are only free within the limits of instinct. For humans to be free, their will has to make them able to act spontaneously, without exterior determinism, be it ideological or physical. That is why the ICC only recognizes factual autonomy that survives over time.
That is why we still need armed forces.

Good? Maybe not. Necessary? Clearly!

 

Food for thought, Tay.

Leave a comment