Home

A tear in the corner.

I’ve lost my youth’s hopes
Of happiness unending
On aeternal Eire’s slopes.

And can’t trust that at last
Sires and damsels
On Earth in peace ever last.

I cannot hope to feel happy
Like you made me,
At times, believe I was, baby!

Will I walk down that street
Hand in hand and
Heart skippin’ for love’s sweet …

Making plans, dull and ridiculous
For tomorrow and ever
Of a dog in Autumn’s leaves
Running to the kid
That a year later leaves?

I may not hold ever again
That soft promise
Crying for life through the pain.

Yet if the World to me is dead
And my soul’s prison
To live off water and bread,

In a dark dungeon of despair
That forbids me whole
To dream of forming a pair,

If you do, in memory of love’s dart,
I’ll always cry from the corner of my heart?

Tay.

For N.E., Cubby and all that hope beyond.

Leave a comment