Home

Yeap, torn. I mean just look at that title! I did it again! I pun for fun like most people drink cheap coffee at work, without ever thinking about it. And I post on knowledge of our World mostly.
According to Merriam-Webster, it’s called a dichotomy : a division in two mutually exclusive groups.

Or is it? Maybe I am torn for no good reason? Let’s hope it’s not a definitive lapse of it? 😎 But what if it is true for my readers, hum? What then?

Because I have to admit that I pretty much am like that in real life. I am passionate about knowledge and sport. I am jocular on serious stuff. Etc.
And yesterday, after reading my self-congratulating pastiche, a reader sternly told me to get my act together, it was brutal! There he is :

Snapshot 2013-03-30 18-41-50

We all know that guy right, the consummate a-hole, right? Funny, happy and positive, pushing the best of Life to the unsuspecting passerby as to all he meets? I mean look at the title of the book he just published : Saloon at the edge of everywhere ? Yeap, very Douglas Adamsish !
Bad crowd, those jokers, I’m telling you. Like that dubiously ironic fellow they call the Illustrious Bard!
Jesters are the scourge of the Earth, I’m telling you …  Well, nonetheless, he was right!

http://pouringmyartout.wordpress.com/ ( Seriously, that blog name? He’s as bad as I am, maybe worse! )

Arthur more or less told me to be funny or shut up. Which shows him to be mind-boggingly clueless since it’s not like if had real control over either** either, huh mate? So if it was for the uncanny compliment of the lone lad Arthur, I’d be OK but there is also the slight problem of real life and you, my dear readers ( … even potential ones! [ I know that addressing potential readers is a difficult logical consideration but then again I should be allowed since the only people that cater to them normally are those who want to sell them stuff just like Arthur although it should be noted how cheap his book is? Just another trick to lure you, that chap is the humor literature’s version of the school corner’s candy brandisher ! *]).

Real life as I said up there and just showed in those brackets sees yours truly often accused of excess. For those that cherish the serious stuff, the irruption of disparaging expressions of sarcasm quickly get seen as slur or slander. For the jokesters, it is more often than not unacceptable that I would support the existence of an army while singing the praise of those that do without one and wax heavily on how history and geography light up the State of Things as they stand in World affairs on a sober tone. And as some people turn their back to either, they hold fast the belief that I am a Man in the High Tower impervious to all while I in fact turn around sullenly and draped in despair to the loneliness imposed by the vistas  my mind cannot ignore and theirs cannot accept! I’m likely not done crying nights over the divide with my species that that discrepancy brings about but as I suspect this situation to be shared by many others, let’s not wallow in it and move on to the part of it that affects blogging and caused that title up there.

Contrarily to what my About Page says, it may not be possible to talk of quite everything in one blog. The best way to explain this is a post on blogging that can be found here :
https://dlofr.wordpress.com/2013/03/31/blogging-on-blogging-as-a-bogging-fool-or-part-2-of-a-non-trilogy/
I cannot write essays with as sharp a tongue as I would like without having given knowledge of the matter to my readers  first! For instance the piece below :
https://dlofr.wordpress.com/2013/03/31/is-the-second-amendment-really-a-joke-by-now-or-only-this-post-about-it/
about the Second Amendment and Gun Control in the US can only be read AFTER having read my initial serious call lest it be seen as borderline insulting. It only becomes allowed by the hard work.

And to show my complete sincerity in this dilemma between serious and jestering, let’s show how it relates to quite mundane consequences for the real life person that I am by explaining that those two posts were written for this piece and are part of it, published at the same time while standing alone in the Definitive Lapse of Reason complex. The implied idea here is that I just cannot write 3 posts every day and maintain quality in the long run. Thus, in addition to the tone & intent split there is that of what to write about. ( If you like ideas to flow along with the story line as they do in Hollywood, please finish this article as you can then read their authoritative proof of the validity of the problem on which I am expounding and find the same linearity respected all through. A warning/suggestion most likely unnecessary since the ones that hop through fields of thought as bunnies in egg-filled ones on Easter have most likely already done so? Oh, well! )

Part 2  talks of the  blogging specifics. All the things that become part of the blogger’s view point or at least as far as I am concerned of course! For instance, there are different types of readers which may not be clear from the outside. Followers that either have found a general liking to my treatment of Reality, readers from all over the world that find me through search engines as evidenced by my Minecraft problem which now has me committed to blog on the game with tools for the popularity of the initial post although meant very lightly, about as a recess game from my perspective and each of these are then to be split in readers that communicate their impressions and comment such as Arthur or not. The tools at our disposal on WordPress’ platform are important and create the terrain conditions of our experience. And being inquisitive on all things logical as my Renaissance Man self-description should foretell, I worry and wonder about what those nifty little numbers indicate.
Even the fact that they are tweaked over time has had consequences as I lost track of my Alien readership after the last upgrade ( Darn you, significant statistics, I want my Blorgzmuff back! ). Those cues can wreck hell on the relationship between a man and his blog! Should I favor subjects that “hit” a lot of visits? Minecraft & Meteors hitting Russia? Really? Or rather consider the sarcastic news format the most popular time after time with readers at large even though publishing under the Humour category gets my blogging colleagues running in? We may still seem on the same divide but actually, it’s now much more ramified.

What is worse even than that is time! Let us suppose that  I cater to the ironic look at things we just brushed upon. That has been a problem for me even aside from choice of content. For, since the Human folly does not sleep globally but that I do, this vein of reporting that has its fans would be a daily post or about. Then the all is free game call dies in all other respects. I’ve maintained a post a day average or about but including the untimely early December interruption due to a fire and subsequent moving in real life. But those nearly twenty days lost then were compensated for by the 2-3 posts a day at the time of the last Israeli-Palestinian “war” or the six parts Pentalogy *** that accompanied the Mayan Non-end of the World and the couple of times when being torn indeed produced two posts a day, one serious and one less or one timed and news and the other an essay of sorts piece. Yet, with all that, I have left my H*Flow series by the side of the road, did not cover Almanac-style posting enough recently, either literal star and weather related or historical bits fished out as of the trickster’s top hat and keep pushing back some serious ranting and imprecation filled exhortations to make this planet a more bearable place to live in. And open Social Ecology to you in order to move deeper in this. And I have to get  Facebook and Twitter accounts for Definitive Lapse of Reason. and  . . .

Of course, if someone was to offer me say a hundred thousand quids a year to do nothing else, why, I’d reach Lance for a full productivity heightening substances regimen and inform until I piss blood all the while producing 8 to 10 hours podcasts from the trusted old full-sus MTB on double century rides about conversations with cardinals that may or may not be theology related but for certain interspersed with huffing, puffing. As this is not the case, the problem stands!

So, what am I to do? I thought of splitting this blog in two and have a daily one for the actuality reel and another to output the rest. It would not fully solve my problem though now would it? As just explained, I’d still have two or more minds to apply on the main blog and only the same set of hours and digits to let them fight it over after the news are done? I am torn, I’m telling you.

What do you think? Hey, what about a poll, our very first on that? Oh! *facepalm* Geez, one more thing to do, sigh

Please leave your message after the ripping sound, I guess?
HAPP…, Tay.

P.S. Liz thanked me for bringing down the North Korean threats to allow for sound sleep the day before Arthur. Not all whiners, huh?

* If you doubt the irony so far please feel free to mentally add smileys to indicate joking disposition anywhere you feel the need!

** And what little I have I muster through powerful incantations to keep this poor blog from becoming A Bliss in Wonderland!

*** Six parts Pentalogies are a difficult exercise but it does fit in with non-trilogies ( and non-series if you read the disclaimer on the last of this tri-post ).

4 thoughts on “200 Posts later, A BLOGGER IS TORN!

  1. Pingback: Blogging on blogging as a bogging fool! Or Part 2 of a non-trilogy. | Definitive Lapse of Reason

  2. Pingback: Is the Second Amendment really a joke by now or only this post about it? | Definitive Lapse of Reason

  3. Never have I been insulted so complimentarily… or complimented so insultingly… or something. I never meant my off-hand remark to be taken so seriously. It was just advice. But it seems like you have managed to be both funny and clever, so obviously you took it to heart… and you even managed to drag me into it, and we all know that there is nothing I like better than a good dragging… and a picture of my face…

Leave a comment