Home

I was going over data about wealth distribution for an upcoming post and noticed how northern and mostly four-seasoned the richest countries are. If you live in those regions, autumn is falling on you.

Yesterday morning, after a meeting as I walked down the street, a poor bloke came up asking for
fire to light his cigarette stump anew.
I did not have fire but he then went on to talk about how it was his first day without consumption.
I let pass the fact that it was not even 10 o’clock which decreased somewhat the feat and asked
what it was he was doing without. He said he wouldn’t shoot himself up anymore to which I
answered something like “Well, rather a good idea then, huh?” He then quickly voiced the usual
list of proper steps taken so far, mostly in his mind such as looking forward and being surrounded
by proper people, non-users themselves and leaving the bad gang behind. I encouraged his shiny
new resolve, whished him a good day and good luck and trudged on back home.
It took at best two minutes.

I’m not at all convinced of the success of my stranger’s attempt to shake off the drug bug, especially that one. But in the off chance that it may be part of a gathering ball of resolve for him, I am sure that it was the right thing to do. In all truth by the way, I do not take the time to talk to weirdos on the street often anymore. But there is one thing that I feel compelled to keep up from the bottom of my soul.

I am a confident assertive person so that on the street, I am not worried by or even scared of others as some poor folks are. I also do not categorize much especially before getting to know a person although I do later form an opinion of course but even that, with age and experience tends to include repetitive utterings of  uncertainty in the worth of my judgment, for who am I anyway to say . . . etc
In general, I am open to all or almost. Remember  Kipling? “And yet don’t look too good, nor talk too wise” and then “If all men count with you”. I try.

As a direct result, some of the downtrodden, the wretched in miserable poverty will often look at or to me by opposed to through as they usually feel and return to the passerbys.
I smile at them. Just a smile, a clear frank look and a smile.

I have always done so but a few years back while reading on MacWorld, I came across a phrase in a list in an article by the excellent Andy Ihnatko . It sort of named my reason for the smile.
Andy said : “… figuring out that the worst sin in life is to deny the humanity in others …”

Ever since, the words ring out when I take just a small fraction of my precious time to reassure a poor soul that -Yes, they are still human beings in their own right.
I’m no saint or whatever, the best part of my small offering being that I’ll keep at it even if no normal person cares because it’s the right thing to do. I understand those of you who are too scared and know the futility of hoping that the most precious and arrogant will follow my example. But for the rest of you?

Just a look without judgement or condemnation, a peaceful accepting look and a soft smile is all it takes. It costs nothing at all since afterall, smiling is good for you. And for them.
In some instances, I promise, you will see their eyes light up like a Christmas tree. It’s not Christmas yet and the air only smells of cold and snow and yet light up they will.
It did not break your stride nor cost a cent and won’t warm them up when frigid air sweeps the sidewalks where they live … although maybe it warmed them up nonetheless?

Human dignity is a fragile thing. Please feed it.

Tay.

2 thoughts on “The simplest gift for the season.

Leave a comment