Home

I was so young that I can’t remember when it came out!

I was old enough to have never forgotten it since.

 

It was a spaceship.

It was a spaceship.

 

The guy seemed so happy, smug and yet natural.

The guy seemed so serious, calm and collecting.

 

It was silver blue and sleek.

He was white, bulbous and clumsy.

 

It was on TV.

It was on TV.

 

It was an ad.

Dad pulled me out of the backyard where I was being Zorro and D’Artagnan and said to sit down, shut up and watch history in the making.

 

It was a Corvette Stingray 1965.

It was Neil Armstrong.

 

He died recently.

I did a little too.

Search the web for his story.

That of a calm, disciplined, shy man.

That we could almost all wish we would have been.

I remembered those fleeting moments while watching http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00lkvln

Being Neil Armstrong  with Andrew Smith from the BBC.

 

Thanks, old chaps! Hat off! Tay.

 

P.S. I’d still take a Corvette 65 and I don’t even like cars anymore. Pliz?

 

Special thanks to Timbits20 for the inspiration his comment provided.

Leave a comment